Go to web site of Saarland University

Ute Becherer:
Role of second messengers in the regulation of chromaffin cell secretion

Research

Our main research goal is the understanding of the molecular mechanisms of regulated exocytosis, which is the basis of neurotransmitter release during synaptic transmission and of the release of hormones such as catecholamines. Regulated exocytosis is a multi-step process including:

  1. Mobilization from the reserve pool
  2. Docking
  3. Priming
  4. Ca2+-dependent fusion

A large group of proteins is involved in these processes (see Figure 1 and for review see Becherer & Rettig, 2006).

We are specifically interested in the exocytosis of:

  • large dense core vesicles (LDCVs) containing catecholamines in chromaffin cells
  • LDCVs and synaptic vesicles (SVs) in dorsal root ganglion (DRG) neurons.

Figure 1: Vesicles undergo docking and priming reactions before fusing with the plasma membrane upon Ca2+ entry via CaV channels. Primed vesicles are tightly connected to the plasma membrane via the SNARE complex formed by SNAP-25, Syntaxin1 and Synaptobrevin. The fusion of the LDCVs with the plasma membrane is mediated by Synaptotagmin. Docking of LDCVs involves Munc18, while priming is regulated by proteins such as CAPS or Munc13.

Our method of choice is total internal reflection fluorescence (TIRF) microscopy in combination with patch-clamp electrophysiology (Figure 2 and see Becherer et al. 2007). This method allows us to observe docking, priming and fusion of individual fluorescently labeled vesicles (Movie 1) in real time, while measuring the membrane capacitance and controlling the intracellular medium with the patch pipette. This technique is complemented by genetic approaches (knock-out, rescue and gain of function experiments).

 

Figure 2: Left: Experimental setup for combined TIRF microscopy and patch-clamp electrophysiology.

Right: Example of one such experiment. On top is displayed the change in membrane capacitance elicited by a train of depolarizations while the bottom TIRFM pictures made at the beginning (1) and the end (2) of the experiment shows that 12 vesicles labeled via overexpression of NPY-mRFP were secreted (yellow arrows).

With this method we found that mobility of LDCVs is related to its functional state in chromaffin cells (Nofal et al., 2007). We investigate the Ca2+-dependency of docking in chromaffin cells (Pasche et al. 2012) and we uncovered that some LDCVs appear permanently docked to the plasma membrane through dead end docking (Hugo et al. 2013). We currently are unraveling the molecular machinery mediating dead-end docking.

Furthermore we are investigating the mode of LDCV secretion and it's regulation in DRG neurons (Movie 2).

zur Startseite der Universität des Saarlandes

Ute Becherer:
Role of second messengers in the regulation of chromaffin cell secretion

Forschung

Unser wissenschaftliches Ziel ist die Aufklärung der molekularen Mechanismen der regulierten Exozytose. Diese sind Grundlage der synaptischen Übertragung und der Freisetzung von Hormonen, wie z.B. Katecholaminen. Regulierte Exozytose ist ein mehrstufiger Prozess, der folgende Schritte beinhaltet:

  1. Mobilisierung aus dem Reserve-Pool
  2. Docking
  3. Priming
  4. Ca2+-abhängige Fusion

Eine Vielzahl von Proteinen und sekundärer Messenger vermittelt und kontrolliert diesen Prozess (s. Abb. 1 und Becherer & Rettig, 2006).

Im Fokus liegen die Exozytose von:

  • mit Katecholaminen befüllten, elektronendichten Granulen (engl. "large dense core vesicles", LDCVs) in Chromaffinzellen des Nebennierenmarks.
  • LDCVs und synaptischen Vesikeln (SVs) in Neuronen der Spinalganglien (engl.: "dorsal root ganglion", DRG)

Abbildung 1: Vesikel durchlaufen Docking und Priming Reaktionen, bevor sie nach Ca2+ Einstrom über CaV Kanäle mit der Plasmamembran fusionieren. Geprimte Vesikel sind über SNARE Komplexe (bestehend aus SNAP-25, Syntaxin1 und Synaptobrevin2) dicht an die Plasmamembran gebunden. Die Fusion der LDCVs mit der Plasma­membran wird durch Synaptotagmin getriggert. Docking der LDCVs benötigt Munc18, während Priming u.a. durch CAPS oder Munc13 reguliert wird.

Um unsere Fragestellungen zu beantworten, benutzen wir hauptsächlich die interne Totalreflexions-Fluoreszenzmikroskopie (TIRF-Mikroskopie) in Kombination mit Patch-Clamp Elektrophysiologie (Abb. 2 und Becherer et al. 2007). Diese Methode erlaubt die Visualisierung von Docking, Priming und Fusion einzelner, Fluoreszenz- markierter Vesikel in Echtzeit  (Film 1), während gleichzeitig die Membrankapazität gemessen und die Komposition des Intrazellulärmediums durch die Patch-Pipette kontrolliert wird. Diese Technik wird durch einen genetischen Ansatz (knock-out, rescue und gain of function Experimente) ergänzt.

Abbildung 2: Links: Experimenteller Aufbau für kombinierte TIRF-Mikroskopie und Patch-Clamp Elektro­physiologie.

Rechts: Beispiel eines solchen Experimentes. Oben ist die Membran­kapazitäts­veränderung dargestellt, die durch eine Serie von Depolarisationen eingeleitet wurde. Die TIRM-Bilder unten wurden am Anfang (1) und am Ende (2) des Experimentes aufgenommen. Sie zeigen die mit NPY-mRFP markierten, sezernierten Vesikel (gelbe Pfeile).

Mit dieser Methodik konnten wir zeigen, dass die Mobilität der LDCVs in Chromaffinzellen von ihrem funktionellen Stadium abhängt (Nofal et al., 2007). Desweiteren haben wir die Ca2+-Abhängigkeit des Docking-Prozesses in Chromaffinzellen untersucht und quantifiziert (Pasche et al., 2012). Schließlich konnten wir kürzlich eine neue Klasse von membrangebundenen Vehikeln identifizieren. Die so genannten dead-end Vesikel sind permanent an der Plasmamembran gedockt, ohne jemals Fusionskompetenz zu erreichen (Hugo et al., 2013).

Zurzeit identifizieren wir die molekulare Maschinerie, die dieses dead-end docking vermittelt. Schließlich wird die Art und die Modulierung der LDCV Freisetzung in DRG-Neuronen erforscht (Film 2).